Movies

What makes a favorite movie?  For me, it’s wanting to watch it multiple times, enjoying watching it multiple times, nostalgic value, and the overall subjective “I liked it.”

These aren’t ranked by number, but you can assume that the higher on the list the movie is, the more I like it.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Wayne’s World

Children of Men

The Third Man

Mystery Science Theater 3000: Merlin’s Shop of Mystical Wonders

Dumb and Dumber

Goodfellas

Riding Alone for Thousands of Miles

Avatar

Minority Report

Ghostbusters

The French Connection

The Three Amigos

Monty Python and the Holy Grail

Mystery Science Theater 3000: The Movie

Lost in Translation

Hot Shots

Sneakers

Schindler’s List

Rear Window

Toy Story

Toy Story 2

Catch Me if You Can

Bringing Out the Dead

Bottle Rocket

The Hudsucker Proxy

Traffic

Touching the Void

Up

The Darjeeling Limited

The Host (Gwoemul)

O Brother, Where Art Thou?

A King in New York

Pulp Fiction

Songs from the Second Floor

The Blues Brothers

21 Grams

Born into Brothels

Manufacturing Consent: Noam Chomsky and the Media

Waco: The Rules of Engagement

Slumdog Millionaire

Forrest Gump

Young Frankenstein

Fantastic Mr. Fox

A Beautiful Mind

Jaws

Life is Beautiful

The Rules of the Game

8 1/2

On the Waterfront

Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room

This list is perpetually incomplete.  I will change it whenever and however I feel like it.

I wanted to include as many as I could here without being excessive.  Maybe this is already excessive.

If I list every movie I’ve ever so much as remotely enjoyed or could at least recommend to people, we’d both be here all night.  I don’t want that.  Maybe I’ll categorize things like that in the future.  Maybe I’ll make an “honorable mention” list.  Maybe I should review every single movie I’ve ever seen in a separate blog.  That’s the only way I could be completely thorough about this.  Anyway, if/until that happens, we’ve got this concise list here for now.

Did I forget anything?  Got any recommendations for me?

2 thoughts on “Movies

  1. Some of my favs: Almost Famous, The Big Lebowski, Blade Runner, The Usual Suspects

    This is an awesome list! Eternal Sunshine is one my all time favs.

  2. list making is terrifying. i made a top 222 songs of all time for a friend a few months ago. the dvd included a text file full of qualifications and outs that reads pretty much that last paragraph. maybe i’ll post it someday.

Leave a Reply

