Next Blankday

I’ve noticed something about the English language on which it seems we have yet to come to a consensus: the phrase “next [blank]day.”  Check out how ridiculous this conversation is:

“Hey, pretty girl, wanna go out next Friday?”

“Which Friday, you mean this Friday or a week from this Friday?”

“The next Friday, the Friday of next week.”

“Then no.  No thanks.”

See what I mean?  Unbelievable.  Not only can our language be confusing, but that guy totally got the shaft.

The “next” can mean “this next coming blankday,” or “not this coming blankday, but the one after that.” My preference is the first definition–you know, the one that makes sense.  I’m tired of having to figure this out every time it comes up. We need to sort this out.   Someone needs to invent a new word.  I mean, won’t somebody do something about all the problems?

Anyway, what’s your preference?  Let’s get into a huge argument, whoever you are.

4 thoughts on “Next Blankday

  1. I respectfully disagree with you, sir. If I am referring to the blankday of this week, then I’ll say “this blankday;” if I mean next week, then I’ll say “next blankday.” I guess it does get a bit fuzzy if that day is five or six days away . . . maybe we can add a suffix that explains it; each time you add the suffix, it implies subsequent weeks.

    Here is an example with the suffix I just created, “en.” If I’m referring to the Saturday that is next on the calendar, it’s Saturdayen; the Saturday of the week after is Saturdayenen, etc. I’m 82% this will catch on.

  2. The wife disagrees! Well… you’re right and I’m wrong, honey. 😉 Also, great idea, Rebecca. I married a genius.

    And thanks for the great article, Samuel. I lived in Argentina for a little while, and I remember using the phrase “the Wednesday that comes” (el miércoles que viene) a lot, to clarify things.

    And that reminds me, how about the Latin American way of listing the date? In the U.S., today would be 6/27/09, but in Latin America, in my experience, it’s 27/6/09. I think the Latin American way of listing listing the date as day/month/year is a better way of doing it. If we’re going to put the year at the end no matter what, then we might as well go from more specific to less specific.

    And finally, by the way, hey everyone, I’m willing to admit that I’m out of touch with my own language. Wouldn’t surprise me at all. This is not a big deal. Pointing out nuances makes me clever and interesting!

  3. I’m going to have to side with Reb on this one. We have had this discussion around the dinner table on Sunday evenings and we all agree that it’s utter chaos when it comes to agreeing on what day is being talked about.
    I like the -en suffix. I’ll try and start using it. Then I can refer to days far down the calendar, like Saturdayenenenenenenen right before school starts this year.

Leave a Reply

